Jason Becker’s “Triumphant Hearts” Hits You In the Feels

Legendary guitar virtuoso, Jason Becker, returned to the music scene with a special new album, entitled “Triumphat Hearts”, which was officially released on December 7, 2018. It’s a special record which involves many guitar maestros such as Marty Friedman, Paul Gilbert, Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, Richie Kotzen and many more who joyfully lend their skills and exquisite playing to make things work out really well. Consisting in total of 14 tracks of new and unreleased compositions along with combination of those fabulous guitarist and musicians, simply creating that special kind of feel in each and every tracks.

The marvelous musical journey Jason set up starts off with the album’s title track which is an epic track that has that ultimate combination of orchestral theme, beautiful and peaceful melody from start to finish. Bringing that modern like classical influence with a fantasy like element that at times brings you into a dreamy time and place, just like video game soundtrack. Friedman’s nice extra solo and guitar fills, despite being short was enough to add that rock element into that track.

‘Hold On to Love’ is a lovely rock ballad track with strong pop element creating such a beautiful atmosphere, especially with the lyrics seemingly telling JB’s bittersweet life experience. It’s one of those song, that can hit you hard if you somewhat acknowledge the story that it tries to share. Cody Holiday’s lovely vocal blending in nicely with the song arrangement and melodies, making it a cross genre song that can reach every music lovers’ heart. A strong Asian musical element can be discovered from ‘Fantasy Weaver’ which is a collaboration between Jason with Jake Shimabukuro. This also has that movie soundtrack kind of feel into it, with the cool orchestra arrangement just filling in nicely at the back.

‘Once Upon a Melody’ is another excellent big band track with massive orchestra play combined with fine neo classical guitar melodies that blends in quite well into one solid unity. A funk-rock element can be heard from ‘We Are One’ a song which features collaboration with Steve Night. This that strong funky element being included, notably from the fun brass section play. ‘Magic Woman’ is a very melodic and soulful classical influenced ballad instrumental piece that saw an interesting combination of two massive guitarists, Uli John Roth and Chris Broderick. Another splendidly composed and played track that will bring plenty of peaceful and joyful feel for those listening to it.

An interesting combination between folk rock kind of track with slight country and ballad element is very visible from ‘Blowin’ In the Wind’, that somewhat showcasing another side of Jason that many fans might not aware. ‘River Of Longing’ is an interesting composition as it actually has two version, the one with Joe Satriani, Steve Vai, Steve Morse, Guthrie Govan along with Aleks Sever is basically a masterful melodic rock instrumental piece which able to showcase those maestros prowess. Meanwhile another version arranged with Trevor Rabin is more of an acoustic neo classic piece which being combined with electric playing down the stretch, giving that different kind of atmosphere compared to the other version.

‘Valley of Fire’ which is also the first single from this new album is another epic sounding track with that melodic, western and neo clasic basic element which turned into such rich sounding and feel due to the massive collaborators being involved on it. There’s like 14 guitar players getting their hands into the track, which they each put out their own take and solo playing that showcase that variety in style, but none of those virtuoso get fully off track with the basic theme. ‘Taking Me Back’ is one of my personal favorite because it has that 80’s rock feel that Jason somewhat experienced during his short period playing with David Lee Roth. It has that Van Halen vibe, but with JB’s unique take and approach, especially on his guitar fills and solos.

‘Tell Me No Lies’ offers that bluesy-rock feel that once again showcasing Jason’s diverse musical understanding and taste, as this track is certainly a style that he wasn’t mostly known during his active playing days. The other tracks remaining is a remix version of ‘Hold On to Love’ along with some old recording of kids saying ‘You Do It’. Overall, this album can be considered as a celebration and the legendary guitarist’s expression throughout this years of experiencing a different life with ALS illness. The album itself also being described by the 49-year-old as his way of thanking all of his loved ones who have been a triumphant hearts for him throughout this years.

This massive album project was originally came out back in 2016, where Jason launched a crowd funding campaign to fund his upcoming album. That project eventually raised more than $100,000 and after two years, music lovers can finally experience such lovely and heart felt album from the fabulous musician. After being hit with his illness since the early 90’s, JB has finally found a way to keep on playing music by using his head and eyes with the help of a special computer program. “Triumphant Hearts” is also a living proof of how misfortunes can’t not fully stop someone from fulfilling their dream, passion and love for something.

Full track list for Jason Becker’s new album “Triumphant Hearts” :

1. Triumphant Heart (feat. Marty Friedman, Glauco Bertagnin, Hiyori Okuda)
2. Hold On To Love (feat. Codany Holiday)
3. Fantasy Weaver (feat. Jake Shimabukuro)
4. Once Upon A Melody
5. We Are One (feat. Steve Knight)
6. Magic Woman (feat. Uli Jon Roth & Chris Broderick)
7. Blowin’ in the Wind (feat. Gary Rosenberg)
8. River of Longing (feat. Joe Satriani, Aleks Sever, Guthrie Govan, Steve Morse)
9. Valley of Fire (feat. Michael Lee Firkins, Steve Vai, Joe Bonamassa, Paul Gilbert, Neal Schon, Mattias IA Eklundh, Marty Friedman, Greg Howe, Jeff Loomis, Richie Kotzen, Gus G., Steve Hunter, Ben Woods)
10. River of Longing (feat. Trevor Rabin)
11. Taking Me Back
12. Tell Me No Lies
13. Hold On To Love (feat. Codany Holiday) [Chuck Zwicky Remix]
14. You Do It

More information about Jason Becker, his new album and other stuff can be checked out here:

get “Triumphant Hearts” here and support this marvelous musician and human being.

Check out the official music videos and some audio clips from songs in “Triumphant Hearts”:

‘Valley Of Fire’ music video:

‘Hold On To Love’ music video

‘Taking Me Back’ audio clip

Dewa Nugraha

My name is Dewa Nugraha a content writer/blogger in the field of music, gaming, and also sport. I have been writing for several different websites for a few years while developing this cool rock-based site as well. Since starting my journey in this area, I have been able to reach out and connect with many musicians of different stature. From the notably simple blog at semolorock.blogspot, me and my friend finally decided to take things more seriously by releasing this Rock-Expert website. I hope the site can provide tons of information along with fun stuff for musicians along with music lovers from all over the world.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button